Current Executive Committee

President (acting) - Dr Karen Calteaux (CSIR)

Secretary - Ms Roo Mabuya (SADiLaR)

Treasurer - Mr Juan Steyn (SADiLaR)

Additional members -  Me Ingrid Thompson (UCT); Prof Langa Kumalo (UKZN); Prof Menno van Zaanen (SADiLaR); Ms Mmasibidi Setaka (SADiLaR); Ms Andiswa Bukula (SADiLaR); Prof Amanda du Preez (UP); Dr Anusharani Sewchurran (DUT)


Previous Executive Committees

During the second National Digital Humanities workshop hosted at the NWU during April 2016 an executive committee was elected to further the constitutional aims of DHASA and start with preparations for the first Southern African Digital Humanities Conference to be hosted in Stellenbosch during January 2016

President - Prof Justus Roux

Vice-President - Karen Calteaux (CSIR)

Secretary - Prof Attie de Lange (NWU)

Additional member -  Me Ingrid Thompson (UCT)

Additional member - Dr Langa Kumalo (UKZN)

Co-opted member - Mr Juan Steyn (NWU)


Steering Committee - 2015/2016

During the first National Digital Humanities workshop hosted at the NWU during February 2015 a steering committee was appointed to prepare a draft constitution for the establishment of a Southern African digital humanities organisation. They provided feedback during the second National Digital Humanities workshop where the draft constitution was accepted and the organisation was established.


Prof Justus Roux: North-West University


Dr Pamela Maseko: Rhodes University

Dr Langa Khumalo: University of KwaZulu-Natal

Prof Laurence Wright: Rhodes & North-West University


Research Unit for Language and Literature in the SA Context

Prof Attie de Lange

Mr Juan Steyn